Media Name: new_site_image.jpg
Charles Colson Task Force on Federal Corrections

The Colson Task Force, established by Congressional mandate, is a nine‐person, bipartisan, blue ribbon panel charged with examining challenges in the federal corrections system and developing practical, data‐driven policy responses. On March 11th, the Task Force held it's second convening where they heard testimonies from some of the stakeholders most impacted by the challenges facing the federal corrections system, including formerly incarcerated individuals, communities of color, victims of crime, and employees of the Bureau of Prisons. Members also heard public comment from individuals and organizations registered to testify before the Task Force. The insights shared during this public session help inform the Task Force as it works to identify opportunities for criminal justice reform.

For more information, please read our corresponding blog post. 


  • Donald Taylor, Youth Specialist, Missouri Division of Youth Services’ Girardot Center for Youth
  • Susan Howley, Director of Public Policy, National Center for Victims of Crime
  • Glenn E. Martin, Founder, JustLeadershipUSA
  • E.O. Young, President, American Federation of Government Employees' Council of Prison Locals

  • J.C. Watts, Jr., Chair
  • Alan B. Mollohan, Vice-Chair
  • David Iglesias
  • Jim Liske
  • Jay Neal
  • Laurie O. Robinson
  • Cynthia W. Roseberry
  • Judge Ricardo M. Urbina
  • John E. Wetzel

For full member biographies or more information on the Colson Task Force, please visit:

The Urban Institute and its partner, the Center for Effective Public Policy, are providing research, analysis, strategic guidance, and logistical support to the Charles Colson Task Force through a cooperative agreement with the Bureau of Justice Assistance, Office of Justice Programs, US Department of Justice. Inquiries regarding this public hearing should be directed to Lilly Yu, [email protected].

Date & Time Wednesday, March 11, 2015
U.S. Capitol Room HC-5, Capitol Center Washington, DC 20515
, DC , 20515
View Map