PROJECTSafety Net Almanac


The Safety Net Almanac brings together information about government programs that serve people in need.

This site features summaries on how each program works, legislative histories, and interactive graphics that illustrate who's receiving help and what the costs are for states and the federal government.

Currently, the Almanac includes eight major programs serving low-income families and individuals.

  • Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP)

  • Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF)

  • Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC) & Child Tax Credit (CTC)

  • Supplemental Security Income (SSI)

  • Medicaid & CHIP

  • Child Care Assistance

  • Housing Assistance 

  • Unemployment Insurance

Visit the Safety Net Almanac

Research Areas Social safety net
Policy Centers Income and Benefits Policy Center