Research Report State Individual Income Tax Rates
Carol Rosenberg, Kim S. Rueben
Display Date
Download Report
(623.92 KB)

Personal income tax systems vary widely across states, leading to different levels of progressivity. Forty-three states and the District of Columbia have an individual income tax. Alaska, Florida, Nevada, South Dakota, Texas, Washington, and Wyoming do not tax personal income, while New Hampshire and Tennessee only tax dividends and interest.
Research Areas Taxes and budgets State and local finance
Tags State and local tax issues Individual taxes
Policy Centers Urban-Brookings Tax Policy Center