Policy Working Group Members

As part of this project, the Urban Institute and PolicyLink convened a policy working group to advise on the development of a blueprint for the next generation of federal place-based policy.

The policy working group is made up of policymakers and civic leaders working at the intersection of multiple policy domains and across a wide range of geographies. Members of the working group draw on their expertise and deep experiences working with communities across the country to share insights and foster learning on place-based principles, programs, and action.


Alaina Beverly
Urban America Forward/University of Chicago

Lavea Brachman
Ralph C. Wilson, Jr. Foundation

Don Chen
Surdna Foundation

Eytan Davidson
Purpose Built Communities

Josh Davis

Sagar Desai

Karoleen Feng
Mission Economic Development Agency

Salin Geevarghese
SGG Insight

Dreama Gentry
Partners for Education at Berea College

Rosanne Haggerty
Community Solutions

Michael Huang
Communities in Schools

Nick Johnson
Center on Budget and Policy Priorities

Michele Jolin
Results for America

Ryan Lugalia-Hollon
UP Partnership

Dwayne Marsh
Northern California Grantmakers

Alejandra Montoya-Boyer
National Association of Counties

Carol Naughton
Purpose Built Communities

Michael Nutter
Former Mayor of the City of Philadelphia

Steve Patrick
Aspen Institute

Tony Pipa
Brookings Institution

Hayling Price
Harlem Children’s Zone

Richard Raya
Mission Economic Development Agency

Sadiqa Reynolds
Louisville Urban League

Alexa Rosenberg
Enterprise Community Partners

Rey Saldaña
Communities in Schools

Sondra Samuels
Northside Achievement Zone

Callie Seltzer
Local Initiatives Support Corporation

Haley Simmons
Seeding Success

Dottie Smith
Commit Partnership

Kate Tromble
Results for America

Wendy Viola
Harlem Children’s Zone